india in icc events vs new zealand: world test championship final india never won icc tournament against new zealand from 2003 world cup

india in icc events vs new zealand: world test championship final india never won icc tournament against new zealand from 2003 world cup


  • India loses to New Zealand in ICC tournament
  • The last time the victory was in the 2003 World Cup
  • The series started with the 2007 World T20
  • Also lost in Super-10 of 2016 World T20
  • Out of the semi-finals of the 2019 World Cup
  • The only series in the WTC was also lost to the Kiwis

Even before the start of the World Test Championship final, New Zealand was being described as a favorite. It was argued that the Kiwi team is already present in England. Playing test series against the British. Full dress rehearsal for the final. Also, those figures were also told that India’s record in ICC tournaments is poor against New Zealand. Now that Kane and Co. won the title match by defeating Kohli’s team by eight wickets, all these things and facts are getting fresh in mind again.

India last won in 2003
Team India last defeated New Zealand in ICC tournaments in the semi-finals of 2003 World Cup. The Indian team led by Sourav Ganguly defeated the Kiwi team by seven wickets. In that match, fast bowler Zaheer Khan took four and Harbhajan Singh took two wickets. Since that victory, India has not been able to beat New Zealand even once in ICC tournaments. This cycle continues unabated.

1999 World Cup series starting from
In the 1999 ICC World Cup, New Zealand defeated India with 10 balls to spare. In this Super 6 match, India scored 251 in 50 overs with the help of Ajay Jadeja’s 76 and Mohammad Azharuddin’s 30. On the other hand, New Zealand won with the help of 74 runs from Matt Horne and 60 runs from Roger Tross.

See also  ravindra jadeja returns home: back to the place where i feel safe says csk all rounder ravindra jadeja shares pics of his horses; CSK all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja reaches safe house, shares photo with special 'friends' from the farmhouse

2000 ICC Knockout Trophy
Chris Keynes denied Sourav Ganguly’s team the first ICC Knockout Trophy win. Kanes had a knee pain before the match. But he played an unbeaten innings of 102 runs. Batting first, scored 264 runs for six wickets. Ganguly scored 117 and Sachin Tendulkar scored 69 runs. But apart from Venkatesh Prasad (3/27), no other bowler could make an impact.

2007 T20 World Cup
New Zealand had defeated India by 10 runs in the 2007 T20 World Cup league match, after which they defeated India by 47 runs in the Super 10 match of the 2016 T20 World Cup.

2019 semi-final win
The New Zealand team then defeated India by 18 runs in the semi-finals of the 2019 World Cup. That was Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s last international match.

Two years later, the Indian team went to New Zealand to play a two-match Test series, which was part of the WTC. In that series also India had to face the loss. They lost the first Test by 10 wickets in Wellington and then by seven wickets in the second Test in Christchurch.

since 2014 India’s performance in ICC tournaments

  • 2014, Runner Up, World T20
  • 2015, semifinal, 50 over world cup
  • 2016, Semifinals, World T20
  • 2017, Runner Up, Champions Trophy
  • 2019 semifinal 50 over world cup

#india #icc #events #zealand #world #test #championship #final #india #won #icc #tournament #zealand #world #cup

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: