WB Election Mamata | West Bengal Election Ground Report: Mamata Ki Shubhendu … Who will win in Nandigram constituency?

Written by admin

WB Election Mamata | West Bengal Election Ground Report: Mamata Ki Shubhendu … Who will win in Nandigram constituency?

Nandigram: All eyes are on the Nandigram constituency in West Bengal. Because Shubhendu, who was once considered Mamata’s special, is standing against the BJP holding the lotus in her hand. Mamata Banerjee is also contesting from Nandigram, leaving her current seat of Bhawanipur. Nandigram constituency is at a distance of 150 km from Kolkata. There, Mamata has put her strength to the test. So, like Shubhendu Adhikari, will the ‘Bhumiputra’ voters in Nandigram shift their allegiance from TMC to BJP? This is the question on which the outcome of the 2021 highest voltage seat will depend.

In fact, both TMC and Shubhendu are said to have done a lot of corruption in Nandigram on the strength of Mamata’s shadow and her dominance. But now the equations have come in the opposite direction. In Nandigram, the family of the officer is moving. Will Nandigram’s ‘Bhumiputra’ change allegiance from TMC to BJP like Shubhendu? That is the question. In the 2016 Assembly elections in West Bengal, the BJP had won less than five-and-a-half per cent of the votes for Nandigram. The total number of valid votes in this seat was 2 lakh 01 thousand 552. Out of them, BJP candidate Bijan Kumar Das got only 10 thousand 713 votes.

In 2016, Mamata Banerjee’s then loyalist and Trinamool Congress candidate Shubhendu Adhikari won the seat by a wide margin. He defeated his nearest rival CPI (M) Abdul Kabir Sheikh by 81,230 votes. Shubhendu Adhikari polled 1 lakh 34 thousand 623 votes and got 67.2 per cent votes. Abdul Kabir Sheikh got only 53,393 votes. The BJP was ranked third by a long margin. Before December 19, 2020, the BJP had almost no existence in Nandigram.

The BJP did not have much influence in Nandigram
If you look at some statistics, a lot of conclusions emerge. First, the BJP did not have much influence in Nandigram before December 19, 2020. On December 19, 2020, Shubhendu Adhikari joined the BJP and broke off Mamata’s friendship of nearly 13 years. In the 2016 Assembly elections, the BJP got 5.4 per cent of the vote in 2014 when Modi’s name was squandered in Delhi. But it was not possible to plant lotus in the revolutionary land of Nandigram. BJP’s Bijan Kumar Das has been contesting from Nandigram seat on a party ticket since 2009, but he has never won the TMC’s Shubhenduncha Gad and Mamata’s storm.

Did Shubhendu Adhikari’s coin run in Nandigram?
Another fact is that the officer family is hugely popular in Nandigram. This is witnessed. In 2016, Shubhendu had won the election by 80,000 votes. Since 2009, the area has been the political stronghold of the Adhikari family. In 2009 and 2014, Shubhendu Adhikari became an MP from Tamluk Lok Sabha constituency. Nandigram Assembly constituency falls under the Tamluk Lok Sabha constituency. Shubhendu had resigned from the seat in 2016 to contest the Assembly elections, but before moving to Delhi, he passed the seat to his brother Divendu Adhikari. Divendu is currently the MP from this seat. Recently, PM Modi has given many messages praising Divendu.

Will Bhumiputra voters change allegiance like Shubhendu?
Third and most importantly, will the ‘Bhumiputra’ voter in Nandigram change his allegiance to BJP from TMC like Subhendu Adhikari? This is the question on which the outcome of 2021’s highest voltage seat will depend. In fact, it is alleged that both TMC and Shubhendu have eaten a lot of me in Nandigram on the strength of Mamata’s shadow and her dominance. But now these equations have come in the opposite direction and after this development, TMC seems to be losing ground. The BJP now has Shubhendu, which means Shubhendu has a vote bank. But Mamata Banerjee has brought her voters into the discussion by presenting her own candidature before her lieutenants. Now the voters have the face of party loyalty and Mamata Banerjee on one side and their leader Shubhendu on the other.

Who will the people of Nandigram vote for?
The question is who will the people of Nandigram vote for? Can Shubhendu officials attract voters to you? Mohan Lal Mukherjee, a resident of Bengal’s Hooghly district, says Nandigram is the motherland of Shubhendu officials, who can bring with them a large number of TMC voters. Shubhendu has already declared Mamata Banerjee a foreigner in East Midnapore. Nandigram falls only in East Medanapur district. After Mamata’s candidature was confirmed from Nandigram, Shubhendu said, “People here want a son from Midnapore, not an outsider.” Elections are on April 1 in Nandigram. Shubhendu has the full support of Modi Shah, who, apart from his own popularity and credibility, will challenge Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

Shubhendu’s claim on Nandigram’s political heritage

Shubhendu officials ridicule and claim Nandigram’s political heritage. In Nandigram, Mamata Banerjee will be defeated by more than 50,000 votes, otherwise she will retire from politics. Shubhendu Adhikari, his father Shishir Adhikari and brother Divyendu Adhikari have a good grip on East Midnapore politics. Shishir Adhikari is currently a TMC MP from Kanthai, Shubhendu will win by a large margin, he said.

Mamta’s ‘M’ factor in Nandigram
The Nandigram seat has been held by the Trinamool Congress since 2009. There are 2 blocks in Nandigram Assembly. Nandigram 1 and Nandigram 2. According to the report, Nandigram 1 has 35 per cent Muslim voters, while Block 2 has 15 per cent minority voters. Their total turnout is around 62,000, while the total electorate in Nandigram is around 2.5 lakh. In this struggle of Nandigram, Mamata Banerjee has high hopes from these voters. Shubhendu officials had once said that the TMC supremo wanted to contest from Nandigram with about 62,000 votes, but he avoided naming Muslim votes at the time.

Looking at the results of the last three elections in the Nandigram constituency, both the first and second candidates in the post-2006 elections were Muslims. Even in 2011, only the Muslim candidate won here.

What does the history of Nandigram Assembly seat tell?
In 2016, Suvendu Adhikari won the seat on a Trinamool Congress ticket. He received more than 66 percent of the vote.
In 2011, Feroze Bibi won the election from Nandigram seat on a TMC ticket. He got 61.21 percent votes.
TMC’s Firoza Bibi won the seat in the 2006 by-election.
In the 2006 assembly elections, CPI (M) ‘s Ilias Mohammad won the seat. He received 37,376 votes. Elias had defeated TMC’s SK Supian.
Devishankar Panda of the Congress had won the seat in the 1996 Assembly elections. The Pandavas got 61,885 votes.
From 1967 to 1972, Bhupalchandra Panda of the CPI (M) won the seat.

#Election #Mamata #West #Bengal #Election #Ground #Report #Mamata #Shubhendu #win #Nandigram #constituency

About the author


Leave a Comment